All of the Above Extender Letter

Download PDF Here

November 13, 2018

The Honorable Paul Ryan, Speaker of the U.S. House

The Honorable Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senate Majority Leader
The Honorable Kevin Brady, Chairman, U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Orrin Hatch Chairman, U.S. Senate Finance Committee
The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, U.S. House Democratic Leader
The Honorable Charles Schumer, U.S. Senate Democratic Leader
The Honorable Richard Neal, Ranking Democratic Member, U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Ron Wyden Ranking Democratic Member U.S. Senate Finance Committee

Dear Speaker Ryan, Democratic Leader Pelosi, Majority Leader McConnell, Democratic Leader Schumer, Chairman Brady, Ranking Member Neal, Chairman Hatch and Ranking Member Wyden:

The following organizations, representing diverse business, energy, transportation, real estate and agriculture sectors, are writing to you regarding the pressing need to address the expired tax provisions (“tax extenders”). We respectfully ask that at a minimum, the House and Senate retroactively extend these provisions through the end of 2019 before the 115th Congress adjourns sine die.

The tax extenders have remained lapsed since the end of 2017. This has created confusion for the numerous industry sectors that utilize these tax incentives and support thousands of jobs in the U.S. economy. The continued uncertainty with regard to eventual congressional action on tax extenders is undermining the effectiveness of these incentives and stands as a needless barrier to additional job creation and economic growth in the private sector.

Providing taxpayers with a predictable planning outlook as it pertains to tax rules is conducive to increased private sector investment and economic activity. Accordingly, we respectfully ask that before Congress adjourns sine die, you act to retroactively extend these expired tax provisions, at a minimum, through 2019.

We sincerely appreciate your attention to this matter, and stand ready to work with you to achieve this important objective.


Advanced Biofuels Business Council
Independence Film and Television Alliance
Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)
Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute
Algae Biomass Organization
Alliance for Industrial Efficiency
American Biogas Council
American Council of Engineering Companies
American Farm Bureau Federation
American Horse Council
American Public Gas Association
American Public Transportation Association
American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA)
American Society of Cost Segregation Professionals (ASCSP)
American Soybean Association
American Veterinary Medical Association
Asphalt Roofing Manufacturers Association Association of American Railroads
Biomass Power Association
Biotechnology Innovation Organization
Business Council for Sustainable Energy (BCSE)
CCIM Institute
Citizens for Responsible Energy Solutions (CRES)
Coalition for Energy Efficient Jobs & Investment
Coalition for Renewable Natural Gas (RNG Coalition)
E2 (Environmental Entrepreneurs)
Energy Recovery Council
Environmental and Energy Study Institute
Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Association
Growth Energy
Independent Electrical Contractors
National Association of Energy Service Companies (NAESCO)
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB)
National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO)
National Biodiesel Board
National Council of Farmer Cooperatives
National Employment Opportunity Network
National Hydropower Association (NHA)
National Lumber & Building Material Dealers Association
National Propane Gas Association
National Railroad Construction and Maintenance Association (NRC)
National Renderers Association
National Thoroughbred Racing Association
NATSO, Representing America’s Travel Plazas and Truckstops
NEMA – National Electrical Manufacturers Association
Renewable Fuels Association
Sheet Metal & Air Conditioning Contractors’ National Association (SMACNA)
SIGMA, Representing America’s Leading Fuel Marketers South West Transit Association (SWTA)
Spray Polyurethane Foam Alliance (SPFA)
The Electric Drive Transportation Association
The Independent Fuel Terminal Operators Association
The National Propane Gas Association (NPGA)
Tile Roofing Institute
U.S. Canola Association
Scroll to Top