Recap: 2023 Congressional Clean Energy Champions Reception

Each year, CRES honors Republican lawmakers who have gone above and beyond in driving and supporting clean energy legislation. In a private reception held at the Capitol Hill Club in Washington, D.C., CRES formally recognized its 2023 Clean Energy Champions.  

This year’s honorees included U.S. Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.) and Bill Cassidy (R-La.) and U.S. Representatives Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) and Jen Kiggans (R-Va.). Here’s a closer look at just some of the amazing work our champions have been involved in this year:

As a part of her work on the U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works in 2023, Senator Shelley Moore Capito has enacted reforms to cut red tape and speed up reviews for clean energy projects supporting American resources. She also championed the ADVANCE Act of 2023, making strides in America’s path toward zero-emission energy. 

Senator Bill Cassidy plays a vital role on the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, advocating for a comprehensive energy strategy. His introduction of the RISEE Act, backed by CRES, ensures offshore wind revenue benefits coastal communities for restoration and protection. His policy advisor, Cole Simons, accepted the award on Senator Cassidy’s behalf.

As Chairman of the U.S. House Committee on Natural Resources, Congressman Bruce Westerman has championed several efforts to reform permitting and unlock American resources for clean energy projects. His #SaveOurSequoias Act aims to protect the nation’s iconic Giant Sequoias & utilize our forests as vital carbon sinks. 

Congresswoman Jen Kiggans, a Navy veteran, is a strong advocate for clean energy and conservation, prioritizing offshore wind investment for local growth and national security. She introduced bipartisan legislation to enhance environmental education and restore the Chesapeake Bay. 

The reception, which was held during the 7th Annual National Clean Energy Week, provided a great opportunity for these champions to be celebrated in all they are doing to help advance clean energy policy in the United States. Congratulations and thank you to Senator Capito, Senator Cassidy, Chairman Westerman, and Rep. Kiggans! 

For more information about our 2023 Clean Energy Champions, click here.

Scroll to Top